6.0.0-git
2018-12-15

[#13852] No Virtual Trash
Summary No Virtual Trash
Queue IMP
Queue Version Git master
Type Bug
State Assigned
Priority 1. Low
Owners jan (at) horde (dot) org
Requester jan (at) horde (dot) org
Created 2015-02-09 (1405 days ago)
Due
Updated 2016-05-27 (932 days ago)
Assigned 2016-05-27 (932 days ago)
Resolved
Milestone
Patch No

History
2016-05-27 17:02:10 Jan Schneider Comment #11
Assigned to Jan Schneider
Taken from Michael Slusarz
State ⇒ Assigned
Reply to this comment
Needs at least backporting of the fix to H5
2015-02-25 08:19:23 Jan Schneider Comment #10 Reply to this comment

[Show Quoted Text - 11 lines]
This is very pity, because even if we are working on H6, we still need 
to support H5 for some time, until the next major version is stable.

[Show Quoted Text - 13 lines]
This is what I was trying to say. ;-) In this case it works correctly.

[Show Quoted Text - 22 lines]
I have to admit that in the case of moving a message out of a search 
folder while still meeting the search requirements, both possible 
behaviors may make sense, but may also be confusing. If I stick with 
my folder semantics, the current behavior is indeed correct, the 
message disappears from the current folder. It's still a bit confusing 
if the message re-appears on the next visit, but probably less 
confusing than the message instantly re-appearing.

That leaves that second example of dragging from virtual trash. In 
this case, it can be safely assumed that the user want's to undelete 
the message, just like he would do when dragging from a regular trash 
folder. What we need to do is not only to move the message to the drop 
target (if it wasn't already from this folder), but also to remove the 
\deleted flag. In this use case the folder metaphor not only works 
instantly, but also permanently.
2015-02-25 07:37:30 Michael Slusarz Comment #9 Reply to this comment
Now that's one of a hidden setting. I never use Virtual Trash, so
when has it been moved there?
Between IMP 4 and IMP 5.
I found the old behavior with a checkbox to enable the virtual trash 
more intuitive. But I don't have a strong opinion about this either.
Having separate "trash" and "virtual trash" options was completely 
unintuitive.  They are the same thing.  Virtual Trash is a *type* of 
trash mailbox; it's not a separate entity.

[Show Quoted Text - 10 lines]
Unfortunately, this isn't something that is directly backportable 
since message viewing has changed a bunch in IMP 7.  Due to other time 
concerns (which I will hopefully be able to discuss very soon) I don't 
have the time to do the kind of involved backporting necessary for this.

[Show Quoted Text - 11 lines]
Exactly my point.
And that's the more important point. If we use the folder semantics 
with search results, we need to use the folder semantics in user 
interaction too. Where we cannot guarantee this interaction 
behavior, we need to disable it. If we don't want to re-run the 
search immediately (which would be the correct behavior) because it 
is too performance hungry, we need to disable moving out of search 
folders.
Why?  Again... this is how every mailbox works... when you move a 
message out, it disappears.  And all search mailboxes are not 
refreshed until explicitly told to.  (There is a difference in 
semantics between search and non-search mailboxes, but that is OK 
because there is explicit visual indication - via the searchbar - of 
this difference).

I guess I'm confused what you think you should be seeing.  Moving a 
message out of the Virtual Trash should not cause that message to 
remain in the Virtual Trash.  I'm not sure what other behavior you are 
expecting.  (i.e. moving a message out of Virtual Trash to a different 
mailbox MUST cause the message to be initially removed from the 
virtual trash, since delivery to a mailbox could possibly result in 
the \deleted flag being removed, for example).
2015-02-25 07:27:31 Jan Schneider Comment #8 Reply to this comment
Now that's one of a hidden setting. I never use Virtual Trash, so
when has it been moved there?
Between IMP 4 and IMP 5.
I found the old behavior with a checkbox to enable the virtual trash 
more intuitive. But I don't have a strong opinion about this either.
Now that I was able to enable Virtual Trash, it's broken though:
- You still see deleted messages in the regular mailboxes.
Can't reproduce.
- You cannot undelete messages.
Fixed.
Needs to be backported too. Thanks!
- You can drag messages from the VT to any folder while they stay deleted.
The current behavior is correct.  If you "move" a message out of 
Virtual Trash, it will disappear from virtual trash.  But since the 
message has a deleted flag, it will "re-appear" when the virtual 
trash is explicitly refreshed (i.e. the search is run again).  This 
is consistent semantics with every other search mailbox.
It's not the same completely. Because if you move from a search 
mailbox to a folder so that it doesn't match the search criteria 
anymore, it works like a regular mailbox. And that's the more 
important point. If we use the folder semantics with search results, 
we need to use the folder semantics in user interaction too. Where we 
cannot guarantee this interaction behavior, we need to disable it. If 
we don't want to re-run the search immediately (which would be the 
correct behavior) because it is too performance hungry, we need to 
disable moving out of search folders. If we don't want to undelete 
message after moving from a virtual trash for whatever reasons (which 
would be the correct behavior too), we again need to disable moving.
2015-02-25 07:06:46 Michael Slusarz Comment #7 Reply to this comment
Now that's one of a hidden setting. I never use Virtual Trash, so 
when has it been moved there?
Between IMP 4 and IMP 5.
Now that I was able to enable Virtual Trash, it's broken though:
- You still see deleted messages in the regular mailboxes.
Can't reproduce.
- You cannot undelete messages.
Fixed.
- You can drag messages from the VT to any folder while they stay deleted.
The current behavior is correct.  If you "move" a message out of 
Virtual Trash, it will disappear from virtual trash.  But since the 
message has a deleted flag, it will "re-appear" when the virtual trash 
is explicitly refreshed (i.e. the search is run again).  This is 
consistent semantics with every other search mailbox.
2015-02-25 07:04:21 Git Commit Comment #6 Reply to this comment
Changes have been made in Git (master):

commit cad459b54d0a2ea63a0c6cb27ef4164199408205
Author: Michael M Slusarz <slusarz@horde.org>
Date:   Wed Feb 25 00:03:34 2015 -0700

     Bug #13852: Fix display of delete-related options when using virtual trash

  imp/js/base.js                            |   28 +++++++++++++++-------------
  imp/lib/Ajax/Application/ListMessages.php |   14 ++++++++++++--
  imp/lib/Dynamic/Mailbox.php               |    6 ------
  3 files changed, 27 insertions(+), 21 deletions(-)

http://github.com/horde/horde/commit/cad459b54d0a2ea63a0c6cb27ef4164199408205
2015-02-10 19:49:10 Jan Schneider Comment #5 Reply to this comment
Now that's one of a hidden setting. I never use Virtual Trash, so when 
has it been moved there?
Now that I was able to enable Virtual Trash, it's broken though:
- You still see deleted messages in the regular mailboxes.
- You cannot undelete messages.
- You can drag messages from the VT to any folder while they stay deleted.
2015-02-10 19:32:32 Michael Slusarz Comment #4 Reply to this comment
Trash Mailbox drop-down selection list in "Deleting and Moving 
Preferences" pref page.

Second option in that list (after "None") is "Use Virtual Trash".
2015-02-10 19:24:43 Jan Schneider Comment #3 Reply to this comment
What do you mean with "if you select it"?
2015-02-10 19:05:17 Michael Slusarz Comment #2
State ⇒ Feedback
Reply to this comment
I'm confused... if you disable Trash (i.e. Trash = None), why would 
Virtual Trash appear?

Virtual Trash should only appear if you explicitly select it (which I 
verify works).
2015-02-09 17:22:54 Jan Schneider Comment #1
Type ⇒ Bug
State ⇒ Assigned
Priority ⇒ 1. Low
Summary ⇒ No Virtual Trash
Queue ⇒ IMP
Assigned to Michael Slusarz
Milestone ⇒
Patch ⇒ No
Reply to this comment
After turning off the Trash folder, I don't get the Virtual Trash 
folder instead.

Saved Queries