5.3.0-git
2014-11-22

[#8419] Add undo link to blacklisting notification
Summary Add undo link to blacklisting notification
Queue IMP
Queue Version Git master
Type Enhancement
State Accepted
Priority 1. Low
Owners
Requester michael.menge (at) zdv (dot) uni-tuebingen (dot) de
Created 2009-07-09 (1962 days ago)
Due
Updated 2010-06-15 (1621 days ago)
Assigned
Resolved
Milestone
Patch No

History
2010-06-15 15:30:35 Jan Schneider Summary ⇒ Add undo link to blacklisting notification
State ⇒ Accepted
Version ⇒ Git master
 
2010-01-16 09:05:23 Klaus (dot) Steinberger (at) physik (dot) uni-muenchen (dot) de Comment #16 Reply to this comment
potentially reversible.  I can understand confirmation for things 
like deleting a folder, but not for an action that can be undone.
I do not agree, this action could of course be undone, but as long as 
the blacklist is active it is very destructive. Emails will be 
destructed, and even the unexpunge mechanism of Cyrus imapd will not 
help, as the email is destructed before its delivered into the user's 
mailbox. So its gone into the orcus definitly.

Why not a pop up which could be disabled?

Sincerly,
Klaus
2010-01-15 16:08:10 Michael Slusarz Comment #15 Reply to this comment
Agreeing with Chuck/Jan - confirmation dialog is definitely NOT the 
way to go.  There is nothing more annoying than being presented with a 
confirmation dialog for an action that you want to perform that is 
potentially reversible.  I can understand confirmation for things like 
deleting a folder, but not for an action that can be undone. (Maybe 
its just me, but on any fresh install of Windows the first thing I do 
is turn off the "Are you sure you want to send this to the Recycle 
Bin" messages)

Almost every time a user clicks on blacklist, that is what they are 
intending to do.  It is pointless to badger the user 99 times out of 
100 because the 1 time out of 100 they do click on the button by 
mistake, they have already been programmed to ignore the confirmation 
dialog.

I agree that a notification with an Undo link is the best solution.
2010-01-15 16:01:16 Chuck Hagenbuch Comment #14 Reply to this comment
I guess I just don't believe that users who don't see a notification 
will pay attention to a dialog box instead of clicking through it.
2010-01-15 07:37:13 Klaus (dot) Steinberger (at) physik (dot) uni-muenchen (dot) de Comment #13 Reply to this comment
Hi,

I think undo is not the correct way. Think of the following:

Some user clicks accidentally on the blacklist link.
The email address of the sender is put into blacklist without further 
notice. He probably even don't notice what happens.

Weeks later his chief complains (the sender address was the address of 
his/her chief) that the user never answers his emails, and never did 
some important work ...

Undo will not help, as it just would remove the address from the 
blacklist, but any mail sent in the time between is definitly lost. 
Even the user didn't notice what happens, and does not know why the 
mails get lost ...

This could lead to very uncool situations.

So please add some pop up, which will at least inform the user about 
what he did, best of I think a confirmation dialog, but at least a 
informational dialog.

Sincerly,
Klaus
2010-01-15 02:35:43 Chuck Hagenbuch Comment #12 Reply to this comment
Undo would be nice, but it should then be added throughout the Horde 
applications, where possible.
Well sure. We have to start somewhere, right? :)
2010-01-14 23:21:31 michael (dot) menge (at) zdv (dot) uni-tuebingen (dot) de Comment #11 Reply to this comment
No, with server side filtering, only the next message from that 
person is discarded. If you talk about the current message, I'm not 
sure whether we expunge the mailbox after deleting the messages. If 
we don't, and when using a trash folder anway, we can also undo the 
message deletion.
Yes the current message is keept. The users witch complained at our helpdesk
where not aware that they hat put someone on the balcklist. They 
discoverd the problem by missing mails.

If the user delets a mail we have trashfolders/backups and are able to restore
the message for some time. But if the message is discarded there is no backup.
2010-01-14 22:53:56 Jan Schneider Comment #10 Reply to this comment
No, with server side filtering, only the next message from that person 
is discarded. If you talk about the current message, I'm not sure 
whether we expunge the mailbox after deleting the messages. If we 
don't, and when using a trash folder anway, we can also undo the 
message deletion.
2010-01-14 22:34:24 michael (dot) menge (at) zdv (dot) uni-tuebingen (dot) de Comment #9 Reply to this comment
The problem with undo is, it might be to late. E.g. if you use sieve 
the message will be discarded silently. The messages are not in the 
backup and the user does not know that a message was discarded.
2010-01-14 22:20:43 Jan Schneider Comment #8 Reply to this comment
Undo would be nice, but it should then be added throughout the Horde 
applications, where possible.
2010-01-14 20:55:45 Chuck Hagenbuch State ⇒ Feedback
 
2010-01-14 20:55:36 Chuck Hagenbuch Comment #7 Reply to this comment
I still don't think a blocking dialog is a good idea, but integrating 
Undo into the notification seems like a good idea to me. Also see 
http://www.thoughtclusters.com/2010/01/delete-confirmation-functionality/
2010-01-14 19:07:50 Klaus (dot) Steinberger (at) physik (dot) uni-muenchen (dot) de Comment #6 Reply to this comment
Can we please open up the thread again?

We also often have users, which acidentally put email addresses in the 
blacklist. It is very easy to misclick especially for example on 
laptops with touchpads). Most of the users are of the luser type ...

So please add a pop-up.  It should be default, but of course can have 
a "don't show me again" button.

This would help us greatly in our help desk.
2010-01-14 19:07:35 Klaus (dot) Steinberger (at) physik (dot) uni-muenchen (dot) de Comment #5 Reply to this comment
Can we open up the thread again?

We also often have users, which acidentally put email addresses in the 
blacklist. It is very easy to misclick especially for example on 
laptops with touchpads). Most of the users are of the luser type ...

So please add a pop-up.  It should be default, but of course can have 
a "don't show me again" button.

This would help us greatly in our help desk.
2009-07-28 23:09:04 Michael Slusarz Comment #4
State ⇒ Rejected
Reply to this comment
We had some users adding addresses by mistake who did not perceive
the notification bulb.
And once the address is on the blacklist it is destructive to mails
form blacklisted senders.
This confirmation could be made a config option or a preference
I agree with Jan.  A user will have a chance to undo this once it is 
done, and it is not instantly destructive.
2009-07-13 10:01:26 michael (dot) menge (at) zdv (dot) uni-tuebingen (dot) de Comment #3 Reply to this comment
We had some users adding addresses by mistake who did not perceive the 
notification bulb.

And once the address is on the blacklist it is destructive to mails 
form blacklisted senders.

This confirmation could be made a config option or a preference


2009-07-13 09:45:26 Jan Schneider Comment #2
State ⇒ Feedback
Reply to this comment
I personally don't like repeatedly being asked for confirmation by 
programs, especially if the action is non-destructive. Users already 
get a notification bulb if they added an address to the blacklist. Is 
it really so hard to then go to blacklist and fix it, if they made a 
mistake?
2009-07-09 08:28:00 michael (dot) menge (at) zdv (dot) uni-tuebingen (dot) de Comment #1
State ⇒ New
Patch ⇒ No
Milestone ⇒
Queue ⇒ IMP
Summary ⇒ confirm adding an emailaddress to blacklist
Type ⇒ Enhancement
Priority ⇒ 1. Low
Reply to this comment
In IMP it is very easy to accidentally add an emailaddress to the blacklist.

As neither sender nor the reciever is informed if an email is 
discarded, it takes some

time to discover the mistake and importent mails my be lost.

I would like to see an popup to confirm this action like it is done on 
"Empty Folder":



Example text for the popup:



'Are you sure that you don't want to recieve any mail from 
this.address@example.com'